Boards and Commissions

Board and Commission Member Appointments

The Board of Supervisors appoints members to the following boards, commissions and special districts (unless otherwise noted). For more information, or if you are interested in serving on one of these boards, use the contact information to get in touch with them.

Airport Authority

Board of Fire Commissioners

Civic Action Committee

Civil Service

Coast Transit Authority

E-911 Commission

Emergency Medical Services Advisory Board

Fair Board

Gulf Regional Planning Commission

Harbor Commission

Jackson County Utility Authority

Jackson-George Regional Library Board

Jury Commission

LaPointe-Krebs Foundation Board

Local Emergency Planning Commission

(228) 769-3111

Not Board Appointed

MGCCC Board of Trustees

MS Regional Housing Authority No. VIII

Pat Harrison Waterway District

Planning Commission

Singing River Health System Board of Trustees

Singing River Services Region XIV

Southern MS Planning & Development District

Special Districts

Fire and Utility Districts in Jackson County are governing bodies created to provide for fire protection and utility services, to administer funds provided by county millage levies for operation, and to administer any state or federal funds the districts may receive. Members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and their terms are staggered (5 year terms for Fire Districts and 6 year terms for Utility Districts).

Lighting Districts are created by local and private acts of the Mississippi State Legislature to enable property owners in unincorporated Jackson County to obtain adequate street lighting in designated areas. Those residents who use the lighting pay a special millage. All lighting district members are appointed by the Board of Supervisors and their terms run concurrent with the Board as well (4 year terms).

Gulf Hills Lighting District

Troy Ross, District 4 Supervisor

(228) 769-3457

Gulf Park Estates/St. Andrews Fire District

Randy Bosarge, District 5 Supervisor

(228) 769-3378

Helena Park Estates Lighting District

Barry Cumbest, District 1 Supervisor

(228) 769-3403

St. Andrews/Pinehurst Lighting District

Randy Bosarge,District 5 Supervisor

(228) 769-3378

Triple Subdivision Lighting District

Troy Ross, District 4 Supervisor

(228) 769-3457

West Jackson County Utility District

Elected Boards

Board of Education (Jackson County)

Election Commission

Soil & Water Conservation Commission