Tax Collector

The office of Tax Collector was established by the Mississippi Constitution (Article 5, Section 135). Jackson County is one of 17 counties in Mississippi with separate tax assessors and collectors offices since the County's total assessed value is above $65 million.

Image of building and parking lot


The Tax Collector oversees his staff in two offices:  Pascagoula and Ocean Springs.  His office collects the taxes for the County, all four Cities, and the School Districts.  

They are responsible for the billing, collection, and distribution to the Taxing Authorities of Real Property taxes, Business Personal Property taxes, Mobile Home taxes, and Aircraft taxes.

This office handles the registration of all vehicles and mobile homes in the County, as well as the titling of all vehicles not purchased from an in-state dealer.  In addition, the Tax Collectors office handles the issuing and renewal of all county privilege licenses.

On average the Tax Collectors office processes over 268,000 transactions per year.

Tax Sale Information